
Changes to Address the Bonus Part Prompting 11/21/13 
 
Rule Book 
 
4-E-4f If the moderator prompts on a bonus part, it is recommended that the same player who gave the answer respond 
to the prompt; however, any team member may respond. Brief consultation among teammates is permitted, as long as it is 
not done as a delaying tactic. In any case, the moderator will take the first response unambiguously directed at him or her.  

 
 
Case Manual 
 
4-E-4f: CASE #1: 
 
Team X is in control of the bonus. The moderator reads the following bonus part: 
"This English monarch ruled during the peak of the Black Death pandemic." 
The printed answer is: "Edward III" 
After consultation, Player 1 turns toward the moderator and says "King Edward" 
The moderator responds: "Prompt". 
After a brief consultation, Player 2 turns toward the moderator and says “the 3rd”. 
The moderator says "Correct". 
After all parts of the bonus have been completed, the coach for Team Y protests that the same 
player did not provide the prompted information, and thus the answer should not be accepted. 
 
While it is recommended that the same player who gave the answer respond to the prompt, any 
team member may respond (and may even consult – but not as a delaying tactic). The moderator 
will accept the first answer that is unambiguously directed toward him or her. Why is this? 
 
Under the rules, any player may answer a bonus part, and the moderator is not required or 
expected to note which player is actually giving the answer. A prompt should therefore be treated 
in the same way. Veteran coaches will recall that, in the past, when the captain was required to 
answer or specifically designate who would answer, answering a bonus and bonus prompts were 
tightly controlled. Now however, “the team” provides all bonus part answers, as well as prompts. 
If conflicting responses are provided, the captain will be asked to choose the team’s answer.  


